What I see

Here is my entry for this week’s Three Line Tales

tltweek42

Tick-tock,tick-tock, the clock screamed, cutting through the deafening silence of the night, it only made me more anxious as I waited patiently for the clock to strike midnight.

As soon as it did, I carefully sneaked out of my room, through the hall into the gardens, where he promised he would meet me and we would run away, to get married.

As I run towards him, he is just standing at the end of the corridor where the stone pillars end, waiting patiently for me, smiling, I run as fast as I can, because I Know what comes next, hands drag me back to the solitary room in the mental asylum, where they taunt me for waiting 10 years for him, where they call me crazy, but they don’t see him waiting there patiently every night, I do.

(C) Copyright Sneha P [Rights Reserved]

10 thoughts on “What I see

  1. Joy Pixley says:

    Oo, love that twist at the end that makes me rethink what was really happening at the beginning. I can’t decide whether having such a delusion would make her horrible situation even worse, or be the one light that shines hope for her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

