What remains

Stump

When you promised forever,

I didn’t think it ended with a date.

I try to call it some plot by fate.

We both know you never believed in the stars,

But then again, did I ever really know who you are?

When you left, without a word, without telling me why,

I dropped a tear, as I questioned the sky.

Now you are gone, leaving me in a rut

But like an old tree that has been cut,

The feelings remain, much like the stump

that remains, stubbornly, sticking out

in the now barren land.

 

5 thoughts on “What remains

Leave a Reply

