The sounds of the past

Here’s today’s entry for Word High July challenge 

serjilla_01

I pass by the tiny village

Unable to recognize this image.

I step down reluctantly from my fancy car,

My eyes search for familiar faces from afar.

Stepping into debris and ruins,

My feet are incapable of moving.

I see the old tree, where meetings were held,

My eyes with tears now swelled.

The lake where I played,

I chose to leave, the memories stayed.

My childhood home broken down,

The people I left, to go to town

are now nowhere to be found.

I close my eyes and reminisce

If I am really quiet,

I can still hear the sound

of laughter and bliss.

 

© Sneha P [Rights Reserved]

 

7 thoughts on “The sounds of the past

Leave a Reply

