Pure

 

Today’s word high july challenge 

As I stare into her eyes,

I see a reflection of something lost,

Something that was once mine.

An innocence, a faith in goodness,

in compassion and kindness.

I see her looking at everyone alike,

I wonder how does it feel like?

To see people without

judgments and prejudices

to not hide the truth between lies?

pexels-photo-62272

How does it feel,To not feel the need

to be on guard all the time.

I fear for her safety

will she be fine?

I see her wide eyes,

smiling, reassuring somehow

and I think to myself,

with a heart so kind and a smile so pure,

whatever problems come her way,

her guardian angel will find a cure.

 

© Sneha P [Rights Reserved]

6 thoughts on “Pure

  1. maria says:

    Poignantly written, Sneha. You’ve stirred a lot emotions in us and I fear for the child as well. I hope this world of conformity and charade does not steal away her innocence.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

