Things I miss

Today’s entry for the Word High July challenge 

july 11

 

I woke up today to the smell of Petrichor,

I woke up with an ache, a want for more.

I woke up missing, so many things

The smell of Mother’s cooking,

the cracked voices on the radio

The pickle we stole,

when no one was looking

Grandpa reading newspaper on the patio.

The crisp new dresses

Papa got for Diwali

The smile on everyone’s faces.

The warm tea grandma sipped

The pond where we went for a dip

The cool shade of the mango trees,

The time spent climbing,

the bruises on my knees.

The pretty little sparrow

that perched on the window,

The surprise on my face

when I first saw snow.

The story book with pictures,

where they lived happily ever after

The happy ending I am afraid,

I shall find again never.

 

 

Copyright © Sneha P [Right Reserved]

9 thoughts on “Things I miss

  1. littleaprilshower says:

    Wow, Sneha! These memories reflect a very happy time, without a care in the world and so much innocence is portrayed in this poem 🙂 I’m sure you will find a happy ending again, don’t be afraid, be hopeful of the future ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. maria says:

    Aww these are indeed fond moments we wish to last a lifetime. Sigh.. But I guess as long as the memories remain in our hearts, it’ll never be lost.

    Sending smiles your way, Sneha. ☺️💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

