A valentine’s story

Hello there reader! Before you go on, I’d like to say I’ve written this piece from a prompt from writer’s digest. Do check them out 🙂 Since I have never used prompts before to write, I would really appreciate some honest feedback and criticism if any. Your honest feedback can help a fellow blogger improve a great deal 🙂 What alternate ending can you think of, if any? Comments are welcome.

It was a hot summer day. The kind that feels like all the fire from hell broke loose and is raining down on the sinners on earth. Except that it wasn’t hell, for if it was I wouldn’t have to be working on my “sounds fancy but really isn’t” job.

To top it off I had to wait in the heat outside for a colleague to quickly pick up some papers, when he called and said he is running late. Perfect, I muttered to myself.

I decided to grab a quick cup of coffee from the nearby Starbucks. While I was preoccupied in my thoughts entering the cafe, I was pulled- rather pushed back to reality by a sudden jolt to my shoulder. Ouch. I turned to look at the faceless figure that had decided to earn a mean look from me today, only to find myself looking at the last person I expected to see there.

“Oh My God. Sarah Sommers! This cannot be happening” the once familiar voice exclaimed with unfeigned excitement. Whereas all I could do was try hard to shut my mouth that was caught in a half grin-half open jaw position. Ray had that effect on people. Well, at least on me.

With his thick mop of brown hair, chocolate eyes and a million dollar smile with a 6’2” height he was a catch.

After what must have felt like an eternity of sulking over the break up, I had finally locked him up into one tiny dusty corner of my mind. Suddenly just bumping into him, after a year, it felt like that dusty locker had just been broken into and set ajar, letting the memories of our once perfect relationship flood my mind, rendering me speechless.

I must have looked idiotic, just standing there, inarticulate. For he began his warm, throaty laugh the kind that caused his eyes to twinkle, the kind that made me swoon. After gathering my composure and muttering something almost unintelligible, we got talking.

After exchanging pleasantries and disclosing the reason for being in that part of town over coffee, well I drank, he just sat there, listening to me, the tension finally began to ease up.

We spoke about what had happened in our lives in the past year, our jobs, our families this and that. Then came the – I have missed you. I would be lying if I said it was unexpected. We had been close friends once. I had missed him too, I was just too proud to say it first. But him saying it first, made me melt. After apologizing a lot for behaving in such a rude fashion about the breakup, even though I was the one that let him go, I felt somewhat relieved to get it off my chest.

He was a gentleman about it. Gosh I loved him for that.

“Hey, do you remember,2 years back, I had confessed my love to you in the cheesiest way possible – remember? The letter I wrote to you on 14th February? It’s going to be 2 years tomorrow. How time passes! I can’t believe I did that! You must have felt I am some sleazy Romeo back then” He said smiling sheepishly.

“Right, that’s why I wrote you a letter back saying I felt the same way.” I joked.

It was so easy with him. Like breathing. After this chat, it felt like nothing had changed between us. All those irreconcilable that had made me break up back then, felt like nothing. I could feel the love that once was. After some 30 mins of chatting, we finally somewhat unwillingly bid our goodbyes and promised to stay in touch.

Later that whole evening, I thought about him. How he had still remembered little things about our relationship, our anniversary, his excitement on seeing me, how he never mentioned a girlfriend or anything, how fate had made us bump into each other all of a sudden just before V-day. It must  mean something.

Watching cheesy romantic movies with happily ever after’s and people in love all around you makes you take irrational steps. I, for instance, wrote a letter, an email technically. I thought it was a romantic touche. In hindsight If I had avoided going for coffee, none of this would have happened.

I wrote an email about all the feelings that he stirred up today, expressing my desire to meet him the next day and Hit send.

I waited and waited, as the clock struck 12, my laptop beeped as if on cue. I jumped with joy and like a teenage giggly girl ran to my laptop only read –

“ I can’t tell you how much joy you email has brought to me. I feel the same way. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow.

Love,

Ray”

Now all I had to do was make some work related excuse and get out of the lunch I had planned with Jack, my fiancée.

Copyright (c) Sneha P [Rights Reserved] 2015

2 thoughts on “A valentine’s story

Leave a Reply

