The Illusion of Forgetting You

Forgetting you is an illusion,

Our personalities meeting was like fusion.

When our eyes first met,

Neither of us knew what we were going to get.

As the grains of time slipped from our hands,

We were carried away to novel lands.

For one of us it meant everything,

for the other it was naught,

Such was fate’s cruel plot.

I did escape from that trap you had set so craftily and with such care,

With eyes open and closed, I still see you everywhere.

I refuse to acknowledge, the fierceness of my feelings,

Even when I force myself into complete seclusion.

Forgetting you is such an illusion.

Forgetting you

The machine on my head convinces me to forget,

Yet the rebellious heart overflows with regret.

Your presence in my mind, is a complete intrusion,

Forgetting you is such an illusion.

I pride myself in being cold and strong,

When it comes to you, I couldn’t be more wrong.

To my rational,reasoning, reflective self you are the only exclusion

Forgetting you is such an illusion.

Wherever I go and whomever I meet,

My eyes secretly search for you on every known street.

Your face,your eyes, your smile and your habits,

Nostalgic for our time together, event the silliest bits

Still haunt my memories in profusion,

Forgetting you is such an illusion.

What would you do had you been here?

Oh How would I blush on seeing you near!

No one can match up to you,

Even when I smiled, you knew I was blue.

No one can be good enough,

How will I ever break your spell?

It is more than tough!

In my search for a lesser love, you remain an occlusion,

Forgetting you is such an illusion.

This poetry is another allusion,

Forgetting you will always be an illusion.

Copyright (c) 2015 [Sneha P] Rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “The Illusion of Forgetting You

  1. KasimsKorner says:

    Very unique form of poetry (haven’t come across many similar poems). Well written, and I’ve followed and ill be sure to check out some of your other posts. I’m a fellow writer myself and would love to get your feedback on some of my posts if you have time. I’m working on a novel currently and I post short stories on my blog. If not, thanks anyway, have fun writing and keep it up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • awordseeker says:

      Thanks a lot 🙂 I really appreciate it. I’ll definitely check out your posts soon!
      PS – I’ve always wanted to write short stories, haven’t gotten any idea yet. But I love reading them ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

